Structure and Governance


The User Group elects a Chair, who shall hold office for 2 years and the board. The first board consists of the founding members listed below. The role of the Chair is to coordinate meetings of the board, circulate minutes of its meetings, act as the liaison point between the User Group, Ericsson and other parties and spokesperson for the User Group. Discussions of the board are confidential between the User Group members, except as may be agreed by the members.

Board of Directors

The current members of the User Group comprise the board of directors:

  • Bryan Hughes (Founder and CTO of Go Factory)
  • Chandru Mullaparthi (Principal Software Architect of bet365)
  • Erik Stenman (CEO and Founder of Happi Hacking AB)
  • Francesco Cesarini (Technical Director of Erlang Solutions)
  • Fran├žois Orsini (CTO and Head of Platform of Machine Zone)
  • Jon Meredith (Chief Architect of Basho Technologies)
  • Kenneth Lundin (Head of Erlang/OTP at Ericsson)
  • Manuel Rubio (Founder of Altenwald Solutions)
  • Noah Gift (CTO of Sqor Sports)
  • Peer Stritzinger (CEO and Founder of Dipl.Phys. Peer Stritzinger GmbH)
  • Richard Carlsson (Software Architect of Klarna)
  • Stuart Bailey (CTO of Infoblox)


  • President: Mike Williams (co-inventor of Erlang, ex-Ericsson)
  • Community Manager: Bruce Yinhe



The User Group and the board will meet face to face at least once a year, for example in San Francisco in March to coincide with the annual Erlang Factory, in Stockholm every June to coincide with the Erlang User Conference, and in London every December to coincide with the Tech Mesh conference. Conference calls among the board members are held every other month as required . Other communication among the board and the group takes place through mailing lists.