Building a mobile chat app: teamwork across countries and timezones

Sqor Sports is a sports social network that connects 2000+ current and former athletes with their fans. 75% of Sqor Sports users are mobile, so highly reliable iOS and Android apps are crucial.

Erlang Solutions’ mobile branch Inaka took on the challenge of fortifying Sqor Sports legacy apps/servers, creating new features, and architecting the migration to scalable and more reliable solutions. One of the project’s highlights is the unique chat feature Inaka developed in the mobile app from scratch. Beyond the technical demands, this project presented unique logistical challenges, as it required a combined team of experts from many disciplines to work from four locations, over three time zones.

On April 7th at 12:00 noon PDT (8 pm BST, 9 pm CET) Sqor Sports project lead Chuck Pinkert and Inaka senior project manager Tatiana Oudine will talk you through the challenges faced and the lessons learned in this project. Join us to ask the speakers your questions.

In this Webinar, you’ll learn:

What are the demands of building a mobile chat app
How to manage remote teams on a mobile project
The inner workings of a successful social media sports startup

Posted on April 12, 2016

Tags: